Home > Spam profiles

Convert Group aka accomplishmoretoday.com aka Total Response Group

On 10/8/04, I got a spam from: Lance Armstrong [from-36521-41480636-205-from @ accomplishmoretoday.com] which is illegal under California law.

They even admitted it was unauthorized usage in the email:

Wall Street News Alert has never advertised for any type of charities or donations; however, personally knowing Kevin Porter and his amazing fight for life, led us to asked Kevin if we could redistribute the original email that he sent us. If you find it offensive or out of line, please do not complain to the Lance Armstrong Foundation (they have no knowledge of this email). The Lance Armstrong Foundation is a 501 (c)(3) public charity, IRS Tax ID 74-2806618. All donations are tax-deductible as allowed by law.

Here's the end of the pitch:

The Lance Armstrong Ride for the Roses  That link should take you straight to the donation page under my name. Please remember, The Lance Armstrong Foundation is a 501 (c)(3) public charity, IRS Tax ID 74-2806618. All donations are tax-deductible as allowed by law.

You can find my link by my name H. Kevin Porter, or my member number 200150421. I can also be reached at henliq@aol.com

H. Kevin Porter is a real guy and his story is real. He's 39 years old. He's located in Birmingham, AL 35223. He raised $4K for the Lance Armstrong Foundation.

Here's the bottom:

.

Accomplishmoretoday.com is registered to the same address as on the email, 4800 North Federal Highway, 302d boca raton, fl 33431 with phone number 561-394-4215.

But this really belongs to www.convertgroup.com which has a website promoting their 18 million opt in subscribers.

According to their website, Convert Group is located at:

Convert Group
777 East Atlantic Avenue, Suite 136Z
Delray Beach, FL 33483

Tel:      954-336-4451
Fax:     954-697-2911
Email: 
sales@convertgroup.com

However, according to the domain registration for convertgroup.com, they are located at:

Convert Group
        218 Madison Ave
        New York, NY 10016
        US
        Phone: 212-361-9400

And that phone number doesn't work.

Naturally all of this not really true. It's all done to mislead you and put you on a wild goose chase. They aren't going to put their real address on their website. That would be stupid. In fact, the guys name and address can't be found on the Internet at all. He's not that stupid.

The whole scam is really run out of Erik Brodie's apartment in Wilton Manors in Florida:

Erik Brodie
1001 NE 22ND DR APT 4
Wilton Manors, FL 33305-2263
Tel:      954-336-4451

Erik also is president of INTERACTIVE MARKETPLACE, INC.

Erik is quite the busy guy. I did a little research and found out all of these domains below are Erik's. For example, in my Lance Armstrong spam, it mentioned Wall Street News Alert. Lo and behold, we find several similar domain names below. And they used an IP address to send it belonging to cityfortune.com. Gosh...another match to our list! And then I did a google search and found another Lance Armstrong spam sent on October 1:
Google Armstrong posting. That used localsmarts.com. Hey, whadda ya know...also in my list.

www.Accomplishmoretoday.com
www.Allnewprimetime.com
www.Arrowhits.com
www.Aweekfromnow.com
www.Backyardbudget.com
www.Banyanhollow.com
www.Bestreferralsaround.com
www.Bestwishesforlonglife.com
www.Beyondyourbasicideas.com
www.Brownsweateroutfit.com
www.Chiefcapacity.com
www.Citizenseries.com
www.Cityfortune.com
www.Comingat6pm.com
www.Couponconcert.com
www.Crosstowncustomer.com
www.Customersupported.com
www.Dollars-for-schools.com
www.Dollars-for-teachers.com
www.Dynamicny.com
www.Essentiallylocal.com
www.Everyoneisthinking.com
www.Exitlocal.com
www.Experiencereallife.com
www.Federalfeatures.com
www.Firefightersfortune.com
www.Focusgeo.com
www.Geoattract.com
www.Geoconsumer.com
www.Geodefined.com
www.Geohere.com
www.Geomeasures.com
www.Geoneighbor.com
www.Geosaver.com
www.Geoshout.com
www.Geostep.com
www.Geoxtra.com
www.Greatbrusselsprouts.com
www.Hesjustjoking.com
www.Holisticopportunities.com
www.Hometowntargets.com
www.Impactlocally.com
www.Inheavyconcentration.com
www.Intendedstructure.com
www.Interactivecrowd.com
www.Keytony.com
www.Localloyalties.com
www.Localsmarts.com
www.Longtermfinancialresults.com
www.Lotsmorelaughs.com
www.Lowhumiditytoday.com
www.Moreaccomplishments.com
www.Mystrategicpoints.com
www.Neighborcontacts.com
www.Neighborlytraffic.com
www.Neighbornotice.com
www.Newoptionavailable.com
www.Nickelnights.com
www.Nohassledays.com
www.Northtrailcenter.com
www.Ny-madisonave.com
www.Ny-madisonavenue.com
www.Nycontents.com
www.Nyhunger.com
www.Nyimpact.com
www.Nyinspired.com
www.Nysneakpeak.com
www.Ourlocalconnection.com
www.Ourlocalresources.com
www.Ourneigborhood.com
www.Packedwithupgrades.com
www.Parkofcommerce.com
www.Personbyperson.com
www.Productrequet.com
www.Productsandservicesrequest.com
www.Professionalgradesupport.com
www.Programpak.com
www.Projectbasisdepartment.com
www.Quickfindevents.com
www.Sand-sea-sun.com
www.Smartlocal.com
www.Sneakpeakny.com
www.Soflaflavors.com
www.Suvsplash.com
www.Targetlocally.com
www.Teamingupforlife.com
www.Temperturesgoingup.com
www.Testdrivealive.com
www.Totalcoups.com
www.Totalpremiums.com
www.Townnetworks.com
www.Tri-countycolor.com
www.Tri-countyflavor.com
www.Wallstreet-alerts.com
www.Wallstreet-investorrelations.com
www.Wallstreetalertnetwork.com
www.Wallstreetinveststoday.com
www.Wolwnews.com
www.Yellowstripedshirt.com
www.Expresslylocal.com

Disclaimer